Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

problems with viewstate with callback panel Options
Geary
Posted: Wednesday, August 22, 2007 12:02:45 PM
Groups: Member

I have a webpage where I have a couple textboxes, an 'add' button and web server table control inside a callback panel. The intention is for the user to enter data for a new record in the textboxes and then click the 'add' button to add it to the table control. I added the callback panel around the table control to prevent a post back when new records are added. And it works as far that goes. The problem is that when I add a 2nd, 3rd, 4th record, etc...it doesn't retain the previous record. It only keeps the new one. I realize this has to do with the statelessness of web app. I dug into the viewstate object. I have enabled viewstate on both the table control and the callback panel without success.
Any ideas what I need to try next? And yes, I am a relative newbie. But I imagine this type of arrangement is not unique.
eo_support
Posted: Wednesday, August 22, 2007 12:25:34 PM
Groups: Administration

Hi Geary,

Thanks for posting your question here. This is a very common web development scenario and it actually does not have anything to do with our CallbackPanel. You would get the same result with or without our CallbackPanel control.

To understand why it happens this way, it's important to understand how view state works. View state does not automatically saves everything. View state is a piece of information associated with a control, so it won't live without the control. Considering the following example:

1. Page1.aspx statically declares control A, B, it renders initially and view state information for A and B are rendered to the client;
2. Some code behind logic dynamically creates control C, now A, B and C's view state information are rendered to the client;