Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

Multiple runddl32.exe process when run EO.WebBrowser Options
Minh Giang
Posted: Sunday, September 21, 2014 12:37:24 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/11/2014
Posts: 17
Hi eo_support
I'm using eo webbrowser for windows form for my project which has multiple tabs. It concludes about 10 tabs. Each tab has a webcontrol to show website's content. However, when I check Windows Task Manage, I see many rundll32.exe running. which occupies my memory. Please explain this situation for me.
Thank you!
eo_support
Posted: Sunday, September 21, 2014 12:45:09 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,066
Hi,

This is normal. EO.WebBrowser is based on Chrome's source code and has the same multi-process architecture as Google Chrome. If you use Google Chrome to open many tabs you will see a lot of Chrome.exe process through Task Manager. We use rundll32.exe instead of Chrome.exe.

Thanks!
Minh Giang
Posted: Sunday, September 21, 2014 2:24:18 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/11/2014
Posts: 17
With chrome, I can open alot of tab, but with Eo browser, I can not, because the memory is full very quickly. Is there any way for me to solve this problem?
Thanks for support!
eo_support
Posted: Monday, September 22, 2014 9:12:58 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,066
Hi,

The high memory usage has to do with the fact that we have everything packed in a single DLL EO.WebBrowser.dll. We do have a multi-DLL build that will reduce the memory consumption. We will post it on our download page very soon so that you can give it a try. We will reply here again as soon as the new build is posted.

Thanks!
eo_support
Posted: Monday, September 22, 2014 4:37:47 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,066
Hi,

This is just to let you know that we have posted the new multi-DLL build. Please see here for instructions on how to use this build:

http://www.essentialobjects.com/doc/6/install/multi_dll_build.aspx

Thanks!
Minh Giang
Posted: Monday, September 22, 2014 9:49:47 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/11/2014
Posts: 17
Thank you for your enthusiasm!
Minh Giang
Posted: Monday, September 22, 2014 10:03:31 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/11/2014
Posts: 17
Hi eo_support!
You should put this on NuGet package, so people can easily integrate it into their project, will be very handy!
Thanks!
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, September 23, 2014 9:24:45 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,066
Minh Giang wrote:
Hi eo_support!
You should put this on NuGet package, so people can easily integrate it into their project, will be very handy!
Thanks!


We will think about that. Thank you very much for your feedback!
Matjaz
Posted: Tuesday, September 23, 2014 10:04:58 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 8/10/2014
Posts: 15
Hi,

how to use multiple dll build in web application? I can not add all references to project. I receive

Code: C#
Please make sure that the file is accessible and that it is a valid assembly or com component.


Thanks,
Matjaž
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, September 23, 2014 10:34:52 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,066
Hi Matjaz,

Please read the instructions here:

http://www.essentialobjects.com/doc/6/install/multi_dll_build.aspx

Thanks
Matjaz
Posted: Tuesday, September 23, 2014 2:21:19 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 8/10/2014
Posts: 15
Hi,

i did as instructed, but the asp.net MVC project does not work. I get following error "The DLL must be in the same directory as EO.WebBroser.dll". All required dll are in the same bin directory, but it is not working.

Thanks,
Matjaž


eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, September 23, 2014 7:23:36 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,066
Hi Matjaz,

You probably don't want to use multi-DLL build with an ASP.NET MVC project. In theory it will work --- but ASP.NET copies all DLLs into a temp directory from you bin directory. So you will need to find out that temp directory and copy all the files into that temp directory (ASP.NET won't copy those automatically for you because they are not .NET dll and your application does not reference them directly). This is why our default distribution uses single DLL distribution. It saves you from this kind of trouble and is much easier to use.

Thanks!
Matjaz
Posted: Wednesday, September 24, 2014 8:10:45 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 8/10/2014
Posts: 15
Hi,

for all who wont to use mutiple dll in web project. It works great and memory consumption is half a consumption of single dll.

1. In web.config add <hostingEnvironment shadowCopyBinAssemblies="false" /> in <system.web> to prevent copying dll to temp folder
2. Copy all WebBrowser dlls in root of project
3. Reference EO.WebBrowser.dll to the project
4. After rebuild, copy all WebBrowser dlls to bin folder

That's all

Matjaž

eo_support
Posted: Wednesday, September 24, 2014 8:48:09 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,066
Matjaz wrote:
1. In web.config add <hostingEnvironment shadowCopyBinAssemblies="false" /> in <system.web> to prevent copying dll to temp folder


Great! Yes that will resolve the issue. Thank you very much for sharing!
CWoods
Posted: Monday, September 29, 2014 11:52:23 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 7/14/2014
Posts: 40
eo_support wrote:
Minh Giang wrote:
Hi eo_support!
You should put this on NuGet package, so people can easily integrate it into their project, will be very handy!
Thanks!


We will think about that. Thank you very much for your feedback!


+1 for NuGet packages.
Cristiano Conte
Posted: Monday, September 29, 2014 6:39:37 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/25/2014
Posts: 19
Hi eo_support,

It's normal 1 instace the EO.WebBrowser with 1 tab, open 4 process "rundll32.exe" ?

Thanks.
eo_support
Posted: Monday, September 29, 2014 10:03:16 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,066
Cristiano Conte wrote:

It's normal 1 instace the EO.WebBrowser with 1 tab, open 4 process "rundll32.exe" ?

Yes. It can be normal. Usually there are at least three processes: at least one for rendering (running HTML parsing, layout, rendering and JavaScript, there can be multiple rendering process), one for GPU, and one for everything else (network, cookies, and coordinates other processes). If your page uses plug-in, then another process will be created for the plug-ins. All these are designed to isolate different component into different process so that if one run into problem, all other portion will still be functional. For example, if a buggy plug-in is loaded and crashes, then only the plug-in process crashes and HTML parsing and layout will still be functional. So in this case all other part of the web page will still be functional, and only the plug-in is not functional.
Cristiano Conte
Posted: Tuesday, September 30, 2014 9:17:57 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/25/2014
Posts: 19
eo_support wrote:
Cristiano Conte wrote:

It's normal 1 instace the EO.WebBrowser with 1 tab, open 4 process "rundll32.exe" ?

Yes. It can be normal. Usually there are at least three processes: at least one for rendering (running HTML parsing, layout, rendering and JavaScript, there can be multiple rendering process), one for GPU, and one for everything else (network, cookies, and coordinates other processes). If your page uses plug-in, then another process will be created for the plug-ins. All these are designed to isolate different component into different process so that if one run into problem, all other portion will still be functional. For example, if a buggy plug-in is loaded and crashes, then only the plug-in process crashes and HTML parsing and layout will still be functional. So in this case all other part of the web page will still be functional, and only the plug-in is not functional.


Perfect, thank you very much!
PhilipT
Posted: Wednesday, October 1, 2014 9:02:49 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 2/15/2014
Posts: 52
hi eo,

i tried this multi-process following the instructions. Our VS solution when built outputs all binaries (DLL/EXE) to R:\bin folder so all the DLLs are copied to R:\bin folder. but when i ran the app, it complains EO.WebBrowser.Native.dll is missing.

Note, my app is not ASP.net app.

regards
philip
eo_support
Posted: Wednesday, October 1, 2014 11:40:49 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,066
Hi Philip,

What is the exact error message you got? Please also check if you use shadow copy for your application. In the latest build, if your application uses shadow copy (such as an ASP.NET app), we will search the shadow copy source directory for the DLLs (the bin directory for an ASP.NET app), not the actually DLL loading location (the temp folder that contains the shadow copies of the original DLLs for ASP.NET app).

Thanks!


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.