Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

How to automate the web form base on EO web browser Options
simon
Posted: Tuesday, August 23, 2016 5:19:50 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 8/23/2016
Posts: 4
Hi,

We use excel add-in and have a settings function using EO web browser, we want to do automation for settings function, but don't know how to switch to the popup web form handler, we use test stack(white) framework.

Appreciate that you can help on this.

Thanks.
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, August 23, 2016 12:05:45 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,067
Hi,

We are not familiar with your testing framework part. If you want to automate EO.WebBrowser, the easiest way is to use JavaScript and then call WebView.EvalScript.

Thanks!
simon
Posted: Tuesday, August 23, 2016 9:00:16 PM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 8/23/2016
Posts: 4
Thanks for your quickly reply.

When I use WebView.EvalScript("document.title"), the visual studio occurs error: An object reference is required for the non-static field.

It seems that the EvalScript method is a non-static method.

Therefore I initiate a new instance for WebView, and then execute JS , finally I got null result.

WebView webview1 = new WebView();
string title= (string)webview1.EvalScript("document.title"); //title is null

Could you please help?

Thanks.

eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, August 23, 2016 9:18:45 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,067
Hi,

You need to go through our documentation and sample code first. You can't just pull out things of your head and expect it to work. You can start the documentation from here:

http://www.essentialobjects.com/doc/webbrowser/start/overview.aspx

Make sure you read at least all topics in the "Getting Started" section first.

Thanks!
simon
Posted: Tuesday, August 23, 2016 9:57:08 PM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 8/23/2016
Posts: 4
I just go through the Get Started, I see the webview class need to load url firstly and then eval script which is not suitable for our automation.

We need to bind current opened web form, the same session, not loading a url again...

Could you please kindly help again?

Thanks for your patient.
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, August 23, 2016 10:24:46 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,067
Hi,

No. You won't be able to do that. You can use our product and automate our product through our API. But you can not use our product to "bind" to another browser. EO.WebBrowser is a browser engine on its own. It does not interact with other browser engines.

Thanks!
simon
Posted: Tuesday, August 23, 2016 10:34:38 PM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 8/23/2016
Posts: 4
We development team had purchased your product and use your product to develop web form which be sure the same browser engine you mentioned.

I am from automation testing team who want to automate the web form, I want to use EO web browser in automation script also and what I want to bind is the same browser engine.

So if the browser engine is the same, can I bind the web form even if I don't load the url again?

How to implement this?

Thanks.
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, August 23, 2016 10:44:24 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,067
No. You may want to work with your development team for them to expose test interface to you. You can not use our product in any form other than as described in our documentation.


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.