|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 2/27/2009 Posts: 41
|
I use VS2008 and build .NET 3.5 ASP.NET web sites. I'm now recieving an error after purchasing and installing eo.web version 2009.
"Unrecognized tag prefix or device filter eo"
I have included this at the top of every page: <%@ Register TagPrefix="eo" NameSpace="EO.Web" Assembly="EO.Web" %>
I have included this in the web.config:
<httpModules> <add name="EOWebRuntime" type="EO.Web.Runtime,EO.Web" /> <add name="ScriptModule" type="System.Web.Handlers.ScriptModule, System.Web.Extensions, Version=3.5.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=31BF3856AD364E35"/> </httpModules>
I also tried this in the web.config to eliminate pasting into every web page:
<pages> <controls> <add tagPrefix="eo" namespace="EO.Web" assembly="EO.Web" />
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,358
|
Hi,
Please check whether your project is on a network share drive. That can causes Visual Studio fails to load EO.Web.dll because the DLL is on a remote location. You can verify if this is the problem by trying the same on a local test project, or adding the DLL into GAC and then reference the DLL from GAC instead of from your project's bin directory.
Thanks!
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 2/27/2009 Posts: 41
|
Yes I do develop web site remotely. So that answers my local license failure.
Q. The remote web site should run EO componets okay if access normally from the Internet, like an ordinary user?
Q. Exactly what do you need from me to get the 'Menu' component problem resolved?
I must also devulge that I develop my web sites with MasterPages, it that causes problems...
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,358
|
Hi,
No. It has nothing to do with MasterPage. The problem is strictly a .NET permission issue that usually occurs when Visual Studio is involved. You get that when you use Visual Studio to open a remote web project that uses DLLs that is not in your local GAC. In that case Visual Studio will try to load a remote DLL. Because the remote DLL is not in your local GAC, it does not receive full trust. This causes permission denied error and eventually gives you error you saw.
Normal users do not use Visual Studio to open your project (it would be a disaster if you let them to). So they never need to load the DLL locally on their machine. Thus they have no issue.
You need to either develop the project locally on your development machine (develop and build locally, then deploy to your remote server), or add EO.Web.dll to your local GAC to resolve the issue.
Hope this clears up.
Thanks!
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 2/27/2009 Posts: 41
|
Thanks, I have successfully added the EO.WEB.dll to my local GAC (Vista Business 64) and all is well. I also found that I was still using EO 2008 and trying to use my new EO 2009 license. I downloaded your latest EO version and all is well. Thanks for your patience....
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,358
|
Great. Glad that it's working for you!
|
|