Logo
My Account |  Site Map | Contact Us  
Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

Unable to get developer tools to show Options
BenjaminSimpson1989
Posted: Thursday, January 25, 2018 2:46:19 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 1/12/2015
Posts: 43
I cannot get the developer tools to show in version 18.0.55. Here is the code I'm using where frmBrowser is the windows form:
Code: C#
WebView wb = new WebView();

var wc = new PictureBox();
wc.Width = frmBrowser.Width;
wc.Height = frmBrowser.Height - 200;
frmBrowser.Controls.Add(wc);
wb.Create(wc.Handle);

var wd = new Panel();
wd.Width = wc.Width;
wd.Height = 200;
wd.Location = new Point(wc.Location.X, wc.Height);
frmBrowser.Controls.Add(wd);

wb.ShowDevTools(wd.Handle);

I also tried to wait until wb.IsReady (as read in another topic) but it's still not showing.
eo_support
Posted: Thursday, January 25, 2018 4:13:44 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 21,360
Hi,

It might be that you are doing it too fast. You can try to delay ShowDevTools call and see if it works for you.

Thanks!
BenjaminSimpson1989
Posted: Thursday, January 25, 2018 6:57:57 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 1/12/2015
Posts: 43
I've tried delaying for a while but it's still not showing up.
eo_support
Posted: Friday, January 26, 2018 3:15:21 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 21,360
Can you send a simple test app to us? See here for more details:

https://www.essentialobjects.com/forum/test_project.aspx

Thanks
eo_support
Posted: Monday, January 29, 2018 2:07:27 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 21,360
Hi,

Please change your code to this:

Code: C#
WebView wb = new WebView();

var wc = new PictureBox();
wc.Width = this.Width;
wc.Height = this.Height - 200;
this.Controls.Add(wc);
wb.Create(wc.Handle);

var wd = new Panel();
wd.BorderStyle = BorderStyle.FixedSingle;
wd.Width = wc.Width;
wd.Height = 200;
wd.Location = new Point(wc.Location.X, wc.Height);
this.Controls.Add(wd);

wb.IsReadyChanged += (sender, e) =>
{
    if (wb.IsReady)
        wb.ShowDevTools(wd.Handle);
};


Your code that uses Task.Run does not work because you would be calling wd.Handle in a separate thread. This is not allowed and will throw an exception. Since wd.Handle already throws an exception, wb.ShowDevTools is not called at all in your code.

Please let us know if you still have any question.

Thanks!
BenjaminSimpson1989
Posted: Monday, January 29, 2018 3:12:12 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 1/12/2015
Posts: 43
That worked. Thanks.

Is there any way to pre-select the network tab after the developer tools have loaded?
eo_support
Posted: Monday, January 29, 2018 3:15:17 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 21,360
Hi,

No. There is no way for you to automate the developer tools UI.

Thanks
BenjaminSimpson1989
Posted: Thursday, April 11, 2019 8:05:07 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 1/12/2015
Posts: 43
I'm using this code you sent me:
eo_support wrote:

Code: C#
WebView wb = new WebView();

var wc = new PictureBox();
wc.Width = this.Width;
wc.Height = this.Height - 200;
this.Controls.Add(wc);
wb.Create(wc.Handle);

var wd = new Panel();
wd.BorderStyle = BorderStyle.FixedSingle;
wd.Width = wc.Width;
wd.Height = 200;
wd.Location = new Point(wc.Location.X, wc.Height);
this.Controls.Add(wd);

wb.IsReadyChanged += (sender, e) =>
{
    if (wb.IsReady)
        wb.ShowDevTools(wd.Handle);
};



But when I immediately call wb.LoadUrl and switch over to the network tab, I don't see the URLs listed there. Is there a way to wait for the ShowDevTools to finish loading?
eo_support
Posted: Friday, April 12, 2019 11:37:32 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 21,360
Hi,

Can you send a test project to us with your order number? We provide free tech support for one year after the purchase. We are not able to locate any order in our system under your email, so please let us know your order number so that we can check support status.

Thanks!
yang
Posted: Tuesday, May 21, 2019 2:30:35 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 5/21/2019
Posts: 1
I'm using as below;

private void ShowDevTool()
{

var win = new System.Windows.Forms.Form();
win.Width = 1000;
win.Height = 800;
win.TopMost = true;

webBrowser.ShowDevTools(win.Handle);
win.Show();
}
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, May 21, 2019 11:25:40 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 21,360
yang wrote:
I'm using as below;

private void ShowDevTool()
{

var win = new System.Windows.Forms.Form();
win.Width = 1000;
win.Height = 800;
win.TopMost = true;

webBrowser.ShowDevTools(win.Handle);
win.Show();
}


Your code looks fine (except that we do not support TopMost). If you still have problems, please send us a test app and your order number and we will investigate further.


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.