Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

Failed to start image manager Options
Bruno
Posted: Monday, October 14, 2019 9:05:17 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 10/14/2019
Posts: 2
Our customer switched server-enviroment to Windows 2016. Code was running successful before change of OS and now we get following exception:

Exception: System.Exception
Message: Failed to start image manager
Stacktrace:
at EO.Internal.js.p.b()
at EO.Internal.js.p.e()
at EO.Internal.js.o()
at EO.Internal.js.a(Boolean& A_0, bam[] A_1, String A_2, String A_3)
at EO.Internal.js.a(bam[] A_0, String A_1, String A_2)
at EO.Internal.awa.b()
at EO.Internal.awa.a(WindowsIdentity A_0)
at EO.WebEngine.Engine.Start(WindowsIdentity user)
at EO.Internal.awa.c()
at EO.Internal.cv..ctor(WebView A_0)
at EO.WebBrowser.WebView.u()
at EO.WebBrowser.WebView.a(IntPtr A_0, Boolean A_1)
at EO.WinForm.WebViewHost.a(Object A_0)

There is no antivirus active and we are not working with eowp.exe. Error occurs before we can set URL.

WebView is initialized this way:

//
// WebView
//
this.WebView.AcceptLanguage = "de-CH";
this.WebView.InputMsgFilter = null;
this.WebView.ObjectForScripting = null;
this.WebView.CertificateError += new EO.WebBrowser.CertificateErrorHandler(this.WebView_CertificateError);
this.WebView.LoadFailed += new EO.WebBrowser.LoadFailedEventHandler(this.WebView_LoadFailed);

Any help is very appreciated.
eo_support
Posted: Monday, October 14, 2019 11:10:42 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,067
Have you tried to enable EO worker process?

https://www.essentialobjects.com/doc/common/eowp.aspx
Bruno
Posted: Wednesday, October 16, 2019 6:15:12 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 10/14/2019
Posts: 2
Yes, i saw this workaround and it's working. But...

We deploy our application through MS-Clickonce and I don't know how to correct add this eowp.exe to the package. If I try to add a reference to the exe in VS-Project so i get also an errormessage.

The described solution seems to me only a workaround and not the real solution to the problem. Is there another way?

Additional info: with previous Server Version it was perfect working. Troubles began with Windows 2016...

Thanks for help.
eo_support
Posted: Wednesday, October 16, 2019 11:05:16 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,067
Hi,

You do not have to pack eowp.exe in the package. You can use this method to dynamically create this file:

https://www.essentialobjects.com/doc/eo.base.runtime.initworkerprocessexecutable.aspx

Microsoft did change a number of things that broke our product so we had to change our code multiple times to accommodate. As such if you are not on the latest build yet, I would recommend you to switch to the latest build first to avoid wasting time on troulbeshooting issues that have already been resolved.

Thanks!
BenjaminSimpson1989
Posted: Wednesday, March 18, 2020 6:03:00 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 1/12/2015
Posts: 81
We are getting the following error running the browser on Windows Server 2012:
Code: Visual Basic.NET
frmLoad: Failed to start image manager Stack Trace:    at EO.Internal.i3.k.b()
   at EO.Internal.i3.k.e()
   at EO.Internal.i3.p()
   at EO.Internal.i3.a(Boolean& A_0, axv[] A_1, String A_2, String A_3)
   at EO.Internal.i3.a(axv[] A_0, String A_1, String A_2)
   at EO.Internal.at6.b()
   at EO.Internal.pf.a(Action A_0)
   at EO.WebEngine.Engine.Start(WindowsIdentity user)
   at EO.Internal.at6.c()
   at EO.Internal.cl..ctor(WebView A_0)
   at EO.WebBrowser.WebView.t()
   at EO.WebBrowser.WebView.b(IntPtr A_0, Boolean A_1)


The antivirus has been configured to ignore the application. We are working with eowp.exe and have used InitWorkerProcessExecutable in version 19.2.91. The error is occurring when we call WebView.Create(pictureBox1.Handle)
eo_support
Posted: Thursday, March 19, 2020 2:10:08 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,067
Hi Benjamin,

We tested both version 19.2.91 and the current version (20.0.81) on a fresh Windows Server 2012 system and it works fine. We tested by running the installation package and then run TabbedBrowser.exe directly from the installation folder. So please try that and see if it works for you. If that does not work for you, there must be some other third party software on your system that interfere with EO.WebBrowser.

Thanks!
KSystems
Posted: Thursday, February 25, 2021 9:49:00 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 1/15/2015
Posts: 43
I just wanted to add a note here. We came across this problem yesterday (same error message and stack trace). In our case it turned out to be caused an antivirus / cybersecurity software called SpearTip. My guess is they are attaching a debugger to all processes in order to scan for threats. It was causing EO child processes to crash. Enabling the worker process had no impact, it would just crash those too. Disabling it resolved the problem.

Funny enough their local IT claimed they didn't have an antivirus. I didn't ask questions. You can't see the software installed normally, just a bunch of "ShadowSpear" services running. Maybe this IT employee wasn't let in on the secret.
eo_support
Posted: Friday, February 26, 2021 10:54:18 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,067
KSystems wrote:
I just wanted to add a note here. We came across this problem yesterday (same error message and stack trace). In our case it turned out to be caused an antivirus / cybersecurity software called SpearTip. My guess is they are attaching a debugger to all processes in order to scan for threats. It was causing EO child processes to crash. Enabling the worker process had no impact, it would just crash those too. Disabling it resolved the problem.

Funny enough their local IT claimed they didn't have an antivirus. I didn't ask questions. You can't see the software installed normally, just a bunch of "ShadowSpear" services running. Maybe this IT employee wasn't let in on the secret.


Thanks for sharing!
BenjaminSimpson1989
Posted: Tuesday, March 16, 2021 10:23:56 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 1/12/2015
Posts: 81
We are still getting this error in the browser running on Windows Server 2012:
Quote:
Failed to start image manager Stack Trace: at EO.Base.Runtime.cpcs(Object lty, Exception ltz, Boolean lua)
at EO.Internal.cofw.xxsu.npfh()
at EO.Internal.cofw.awha()
at EO.Internal.cofw.awgz(Boolean& nmx, cofz[] nmy, String nmz, String nna)
at EO.Internal.cofw.npfh(cofz[] nmu, String nmv, String nmw)
at EO.Internal.cofx.npfh(String nrz, String nsa)
at EO.Internal.kosy.jlky()
at EO.Internal.kosy.gpdb.jsyk()
at EO.Internal.cobi.fvde(Action lut)
at EO.Internal.kosy.qwok(WindowsIdentity ga)
at EO.WebEngine.Engine.Start(WindowsIdentity user)
at EO.WebEngine.Engine.Start()
at EO.Internal.kosy.jlkx()
at EO.Internal.geuy..ctor(WebView d)
at EO.WebBrowser.WebView.idvb()
at EO.WebBrowser.WebView.idvb(IntPtr fm, Boolean fn)
at EO.WebBrowser.WebView.Create(IntPtr hWnd)


The antivirus has been configured to ignore the application. We are working with eowp.exe and have used InitWorkerProcessExecutable in version 21.0.18. The error is occurring when we call WebView.Create(pictureBox1.Handle)

We have many copies of our application running at the same time and this is only happening on some of them.
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, March 16, 2021 12:59:32 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,067
To BenjaminSimpson1989,

Please check whether you are using Windows Server 2012 or Windows Server 2012 R2. We no longer support 2012, but we still support R2.

Also please see our reply on this page:

https://www.essentialobjects.com/forum/postst12042_Failed-to-start-Image-Manager.aspx

Thanks!

BenjaminSimpson1989
Posted: Tuesday, March 16, 2021 9:18:11 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 1/12/2015
Posts: 81
It is running Windows Server 2012 Standard. There is nothing in the Event Viewer because my BrowserApplication is catching all exceptions. That was the stack trace I sent in my previous message. Here's the output from running "eowp.exe /debug.listModules":
c:\Webs\BrowserApplication\eowp.exe (0x00400000)
C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll (0x76FB0000)
C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\KERNEL32.DLL (0x751D0000)
C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\KERNELBASE.dll (0x76B70000)
C:\Program Files\Bitdefender\Endpoint Security\atcuf\265001475536055923\atcuf32.dll (0x74370000)
C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\PSAPI.DLL (0x76B10000)
C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\USER32.dll (0x75040000)
C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\GDI32.dll (0x74A00000)
C:\Windows\system32\IMM32.DLL (0x76D20000)
C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\MSCTF.dll (0x74F60000)
C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\msvcrt.dll (0x74B00000)
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, March 16, 2021 9:44:36 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,067
Hi,

Please turn off BitDefender or whitelist eowp.exe in BitDefender. It should not be in the DLL list. Atcuf32.dll is almost certain the one that caused eowp.exe to exit.

Thanks!
BenjaminSimpson1989
Posted: Thursday, March 18, 2021 10:03:16 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 1/12/2015
Posts: 81
It's been whitelisted in BitDefender and it's no longer in the DLL list. However, it's still occurring. Do you have any other recommendations? We're also still getting lots of these errors from other instances of the application:
Quote:
Child process exited unexpectedly.
Stack Trace: at EO.Internal.cofw.awhp(Exception nod, Boolean noe)
at EO.Internal.cofw.awho(cobq noa)
at EO.Internal.cofw.awgz(Boolean& nmx, cofz[] nmy, String nmz, String nna)
at EO.Internal.cofw.npfh(cofz[] nmu, String nmv, String nmw)
at EO.Internal.cofx.npfh(String nrz, String nsa)
at EO.Internal.kosy.jlky()
at EO.Internal.kosy.gpdb.jsyk()
at EO.Internal.cobi.fvde(Action lut)
at EO.Internal.kosy.qwok(WindowsIdentity ga)
at EO.WebEngine.Engine.Start(WindowsIdentity user)
at EO.WebEngine.Engine.Start()
at EO.Internal.kosy.jlkx()
at EO.Internal.geuy..ctor(WebView d)
at EO.WebBrowser.WebView.idvb()
at EO.WebBrowser.WebView.idvb(IntPtr fm, Boolean fn)
at EO.WebBrowser.WebView.Create(IntPtr hWnd)
eo_support
Posted: Thursday, March 18, 2021 1:00:39 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,067
Hi,

This is still the same issue as the one you original posted. There is really nothing particular else there, someone killed the child process and you just have to find out who --- in your case it's almost certain it's BitDefender. You can try to check event log or BitDefender logs (most AntiVirus application should have some kind of log somewhere to tell you what they did) to find out.

If you still do not believe this is the case, we will be happy to take a look if you can provide us RDP access to the system. We will basically be doing the same thing, except that we will have the option to add additional logs into our code in order to collect more information (such as narrow down to the precise moment of crash).

Thanks!


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.