Logo
My Account |  Site Map | Contact Us  
Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

Capture issue with EO.WebBrowser Options
hmireault
Posted: Friday, August 28, 2020 10:53:56 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 7/14/2014
Posts: 43
Hello,

We use the Capture feature of the WebView object and it works great under most circumstances.

We managed to find an issue calling Capture when there is a popup window opened. For example, by clicking the "try it" button on this W3Schools test: https://www.w3schools.com/js/tryit.asp?filename=tryjs_alert

It causes a deadlock, which makes sense under the circumstances, since we call Capture every X amount of time in the background. My question is, is there an event that can be handled or a property to know the browser is currently showing a popup, or anything of the sort? Otherwise, is it something that could be fixed in a future version?

Thanks a lot!
eo_support
Posted: Friday, August 28, 2020 4:52:47 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 22,429
Hi,

This makes sense. What you can do is to handle the WebView's JSDialog event and return immediately if you are waiting for Capture to return. A more "correct" way of handling this would be to fail Capture if a message box is in progress. However this will need to be done on our end due to possible racing scenarios. We will implement that in our next build.

Thanks!
hmireault
Posted: Monday, August 31, 2020 8:32:09 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 7/14/2014
Posts: 43
Thanks a lot for the quick answer! For now we'll work around the issue with the JSDialog event. Looking forward to the next build.

Best regards.
eo_support
Posted: Thursday, September 10, 2020 3:46:02 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 22,429
Hi,

This is just to let you know that we have posted a new build (20.2.63) that should resolve this issue. You can download the new build from our download page. In the new build if a dialog is currently displayed, Capture will return null. So make sure you check the return value.

Thanks!
hmireault
Posted: Friday, September 11, 2020 8:10:17 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 7/14/2014
Posts: 43
Thanks for the quick update, I tested and it works perfectly for us. 🙂

Best regards.
eo_support
Posted: Friday, September 11, 2020 11:31:28 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 22,429
Great. Thanks for confirming!


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.