Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

Progress Bar - Error Creating Control Options
Stephen
Posted: Tuesday, December 9, 2008 8:43:15 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 12/9/2008
Posts: 8
Dear EO

I am using VS2008 to create a very simple default.aspx page:

<%@ Page Language="C#" AutoEventWireup="true" CodeBehind="Default.aspx.cs" Inherits="Test._Default" %>
<%@ Register TagPrefix="eo" NameSpace="EO.Web" Assembly="EO.Web" %>

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" >
<head runat="server">
<title></title>
</head>
<body>
<form id="form1" runat="server">
<div>
<eo:ProgressBar ID="ProgressBar1" runat="server" Width="250px">
</eo:ProgressBar>
</div>
</form>
</body>
</html>


When I switch the page from Source to Design view, the ProgressBar1 control shows the following text:

"Error Creating Control - ProgressBar1"
"The type initializer for 'EO.Web.Internal.ji' threw an exception"

However, the page builds without errors or warnings.

Any ideas what is happening, and how to fix it?

Many thanks

Stephen Vitoria

eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, December 9, 2008 8:47:35 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,088
Hi,

Try to run the page and it should give you detailed error message and full stack trace. Post that information here and we will see what we can find.

Thanks!
Stephen
Posted: Tuesday, December 9, 2008 8:49:48 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 12/9/2008
Posts: 8
Hi

As I mentioned, the project builds without error, so the page runs fine. But clearly something is not right :-)

Any ideas?

Thanks

Stephen
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, December 9, 2008 8:54:52 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,088
Oh. Sorry about that. :)

Have you tried to run Visual Studio as administrator? Also does any of the control render at design time if you open our sample project?
Stephen
Posted: Tuesday, December 9, 2008 9:02:02 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 12/9/2008
Posts: 8
Hi

Standard Microsoft controls render fine, but I've added other EO controls, eg: calendar control, and the EO controls all give exactly the same error message - "Error Creating Control..."

For example:

<body>
<form id="form1" runat="server">
<div>
<asp:Button ID="Button1" runat="server" Text="Button" />

<eo:ProgressBar ID="ProgressBar1" runat="server" Width="250px">
</eo:ProgressBar>
<eo:Calendar ID="Calendar1" runat="server">
</eo:Calendar>
<eo:CallbackPanel runat="server" id="CallbackPanel1">
</eo:CallbackPanel>
</div>
</form>
</body>



Thanks

Stephen

Stephen
Posted: Tuesday, December 9, 2008 9:02:36 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 12/9/2008
Posts: 8
By the way, I am logged in as an Administrator.

Stephen
Stephen
Posted: Tuesday, December 9, 2008 10:26:06 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 12/9/2008
Posts: 8
Another thing:

I cannot use intellisense to reference the control on the page in the code behind class, eg: "this.ProgressBar1" is not a choice of the "this" object. The controls are not present, as far as intellisense is concerned (I suppose this is reasonable considering they have not initialised correctly and are throwing the "Error Creating Control" error).

Stephen
Stephen
Posted: Tuesday, December 9, 2008 10:57:25 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 12/9/2008
Posts: 8
OK - Fixed it.
I had to copy in EO.Web.dll into the project's bin folder. Now I can see the control in Design view.
Finally!
Stephen
Posted: Tuesday, December 9, 2008 11:03:34 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 12/9/2008
Posts: 8
New problem:

I cannot use intellisense to reference the control on the page in the code behind class, eg: "this.ProgressBar1" is not a choice of the "this" object. Instead, I can see: this.ProgressBar1_RunTask.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, December 9, 2008 12:36:54 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,088
Hi,

Try to add EO.Web.dll into GAC and see if that helps.

Thanks!
Stephen
Posted: Tuesday, December 9, 2008 1:07:50 PM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 12/9/2008
Posts: 8
Hi

Thanks for the reply.
Somehow, my VS2008 project had become corrupted (it happens).
I deleted the project and started again, and it all works perfectly now.
The progress bar control works extremely well, I must say :-) Very impressive and simple to use.

Many thanks for all your help

Stephen
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, December 9, 2008 1:25:18 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,088
Cool. Glad that it worked out for you!


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.