Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

Dialog - client show function - not working with Google Chrome Options
quirtep
Posted: Friday, January 23, 2009 6:56:54 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/6/2007
Posts: 133
The following doesn't seem to work with Google Chrome:

<script>eo_GetObject('<%=ReadyToSubmitDialog.ClientID %>').show(false);</script>

Also - sort of related - your sample showing the dialog in the documentation which has just "esc" to close doesn't seem to work with Google Chrome.
eo_support
Posted: Friday, January 23, 2009 7:11:25 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,089
Thanks for the information. We will look into it and see what we can find.
quirtep
Posted: Friday, January 23, 2009 7:12:55 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/6/2007
Posts: 133
So - it's not a known issue? You have no "quick fix" to allow me to show a dialog via javascript in Chrome?

EDIT: I don't need a quick fix after all - will use a different control for this. Thanks.
eo_support
Posted: Friday, January 23, 2009 7:21:18 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,089
The ESC key is known issue that we are still working on. However we are not aware of any issue with show dialog with Javascript. You can take a look of our online demo with Chrome and you will see it displays the dialog fine. So if you provide a test page that reproduces the show problem, we will be happy to dig into it.
quirtep
Posted: Friday, January 23, 2009 7:36:04 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/6/2007
Posts: 133
I see no working demo that shows the dialog using javascript. I see a demo where the ShowButton property is used, but I am referring to a javascript command that does not rely on that. Anyway fix it or don't - I can work around it for my purposes...
eo_support
Posted: Friday, January 23, 2009 7:43:37 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,089
Almost all dialog demos uses JavaScript to display dialog. The one that does not use JavaScript is the one you saw.
quirtep
Posted: Friday, January 23, 2009 7:53:03 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/6/2007
Posts: 133
OK, ok - you're right. But - there is still an issue, of sorts. The following works in IE and Firefox, but not Chrome:


<eo:dialog topmost="True" id="TestDialog" runat="server" cancelbutton="Close">
<ContentTemplate>
<div style='padding: 20px; background-color: White; border: #e0e0e0 1px solid;'>
Dialog contents here...</div>
<asp:Button runat="server" ID="Close" Text="Close"></asp:Button>
</ContentTemplate>
</eo:dialog>
<script>eo_GetObject('TestDialog').show(false);</script>


I was trying the above approach as a way to show the dialog server-side, by setting a Literal control to the javascript snibbet in the above. Anyway - I've move on. I don't know why the above didn't work in Chrome since other inline script commands work fine...
eo_support
Posted: Friday, January 23, 2009 8:16:37 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,089
You call show to soon. IE and FireFox doesn't seem to care about this but it appears Chrome does care. Try to change your code to:

setTimeout("eo_GetObject('TestDialog').show(false);", 10);

The easiest way to display the dialog from server side is to set the dialog's InitialState to Visible on the server side. That way the dialog automatically takes care of such timing issues.

Thanks!
quirtep
Posted: Friday, January 23, 2009 8:20:06 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/6/2007
Posts: 133
Perfect! Thank you.


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.