Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

Menu, SiteMaps, Roles and Postback Options
patingamon
Posted: Friday, November 30, 2007 4:58:06 AM
Groups: Member

I am using the EO Menu with it's datasource tied to an XML Sitemap. The Roles are defined within the sitemap. Here is a snippet:

Code: XML
<siteMapNode title="Home">
    <siteMapNode title="Admin Dashboard" url="~/App/adminHome.aspx" roles="admin_role"  />
    <siteMapNode title="Config" url="~/App/Config.aspx" roles="admin_role"  />
    <siteMapNode title="About Us" url="~/App/About.aspx"  />
</siteMapNode>

On one of my pages I can change the role, and the process of changing the role initiates a postback. The event that changes the role is processed as follows:

Code: C#
protected void ddRole_SelectedIndexChanged(object sender, EventArgs e)
{
    this.RoleID=this.ddRole.SelectedRoleID;
}

The problem is that when the postback finishes, the menu does not always reflect the new role.
-- If I am an Admin and change to a more restrictive role (ie, no longer an Admin)
the menu choices disappear. This is expected behavior.

-- But if I came in as not an Admin and changed to an Admin
the Admin menu choices still do not appear unless I go to a different page. This
is not expected behavior

Any ideas?
eo_support
Posted: Friday, November 30, 2007 6:39:54 AM
Groups: Administration

Hi,