Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

I'm Looking at your product Options
Joel
Posted: Monday, January 7, 2008 11:11:44 AM
Groups: Member

Hi,
I maintain a small website for our fire department (Bloomington Township Fire Department, Bloomington, IN - www.btfire.org) and would like to incorporate a calendar into our web site that our guys can post their days off on.

I think your editable calendar will work. I have no experience with ASP.net and it took me a long time to learn enough HTML to put together our site.

I have some questions about the calendar product:
1. Can I use it with our HTML based site?
2. Can I link to it with a standard hyperlink?
3. Does it retain the information between visits to the web site?
3. Can I get help deploying it to our site?

Thanks in advance
Bloomington Township Fire Department
eo_support
Posted: Monday, January 7, 2008 11:46:04 AM
Groups: Administration

Hi Joel,

Thanks for posting your questions here. As for your question:

1. Can I use it with our HTML based site?

Our controls are for ASP.NET. So:
a. Your server must support ASP.NET;
b. Your web site must be an ASP.NET application;
c. The control must be sitting inside an .aspx page instead of an .html page;

Having that said, converting an HTML page into .aspx page is fairly easy --- sometimes can be as easy as rename file extension. You should be able to find plenty of resources on how to do that online.

2. Can I link to it with a standard hyperlink?

Yes. You can use a standard hyperlink to display our Calendar/DatePicker control. You will need to be able to work with some basic JavaScript in order to use this feature. See here for an example:
http://www.essentialobjects.com/Demo/Default.aspx?path=Calendar\_i1\_i5

3. Does it retain the information between visits to the web site?
Yes. It saves information in ASP.NET ViewState. So obviously you will need to have that working first (it's enabled by default);

4. Can I get help deploying it to our site?