Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

EO.WebBrowser v23 and on-screen keyboard Options
JW
Posted: Friday, March 3, 2023 10:00:57 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 2/8/2019
Posts: 49
We use EO.WebBrower on a touchscreen Windows tablet running Windows 10.

On v22.2.49 when you press an input box that has a type of "number" then the virtual on-screen keyboard appears and displays the numeric keypad by default.

When we move to v23.0.18 or newer, instead it comes up with the stock keyboard (i.e. a-z) and you have to manually swap to the numeric keypad.

I assume this is to do with the move to a newer build of Chromium between the two releases of EO?

For reference, we are using the following HTML:
<input type="number" placeholder="000000" autocomplete="off" maxlength="10">

Is there any way to get the numeric keypad displayed again?

Thanks
JW
Posted: Friday, March 3, 2023 10:13:37 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 2/8/2019
Posts: 49
I'm not sure if this is relevant or not, but if I shift focus out of the app around enough, it appears to start working. It's not completely clear what triggers it to start working, but if I run with the DevTools displayed, opening them (and the Chrome tools) and then giving focus back to the app results in the correct keyboard being displayed.

Also, setting inputmode="numeric" on the HTML element doesn't seem to help.
JW
Posted: Friday, March 3, 2023 10:20:53 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 2/8/2019
Posts: 49
Last one for now (sorry!). I've just tried with the TabbedBrowser in v23.1.25 and it's the same.

Create an index.html that contains nothing more than:
<input type="number" placeholder="000000" autocomplete="off" maxlength="10">

Browse to this using Tabbed Browser.

Click on the input box and the a-z keyboard is displayed. Click out of the app back to Windows and click back to TabbedBrowser, then click on the input box and the numeric keyboard is displayed.

Reload the page using the load circular arrow button (leaving leave TabbedBrowser open) and the keyboard goes back to the a-z one.
eo_support
Posted: Wednesday, March 8, 2023 10:37:44 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 23,736
Hi,

This is just to let you know that we are still working on this issue. We are able to reproduce it but have not been able to find out the root cause yet. We will reply here again once we have an update.

Thanks
JW
Posted: Friday, March 17, 2023 12:10:45 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 2/8/2019
Posts: 49
Thanks for looking into this. Sorry to pester, but have you been able to make any progress?
eo_support
Posted: Friday, March 17, 2023 4:42:22 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 23,736
No. We have not made any progress yet. We did trace into the corresponding Windows API and it appears that they have been called correctly. We will continue to work on this and reply here again as soon as we have an update.
JW
Posted: Tuesday, April 11, 2023 8:27:42 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 2/8/2019
Posts: 49
Hi, just wondering if there has been any update on this?

As you've traced the calls to the Windows API, is it possible to see what is being passed differently in v23 when compared to v22.2.49 (which I believe is the last version this worked)?

Thanks.
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, April 18, 2023 10:34:37 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 23,736
Hi,

Please download build 23.1.77 from our download page and see if it works for you. We made some code changes and it appears to work much better during our test environment.

Thanks!
JW
Posted: Friday, April 21, 2023 8:27:39 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 2/8/2019
Posts: 49
I'm sorry, but I'm seeing the same behaviour with the 23.1.77 release.

If I use TabbedBrowser and click on an input element with a type of "number", then I get the normal keyboard. If I give the focus back to the Desktop and then try again, I get the correct numeric keyboard displayed.
JW
Posted: Monday, May 15, 2023 6:54:38 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 2/8/2019
Posts: 49
As this functionality was lost with an update to Chromium, I wonder if another update may restore it.

Do you have timescales for when you are next likely to update Chromium again?

Thanks.
eo_support
Posted: Monday, May 15, 2023 11:27:29 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 23,736
We will have another update either this week or next week based on Chromium v111.
JW
Posted: Thursday, May 25, 2023 10:46:51 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 2/8/2019
Posts: 49
This is still an issue with v2023.2.14.

Please, could this be looked at again? If it helps, I can provide a video of the issue using TabbedBrowser?
eo_support
Posted: Thursday, May 25, 2023 1:57:49 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 23,736
Certainly. However our website does not accept large files --- so you may want to post it online and then share the link with us through our contact us page.
JW
Posted: Friday, May 26, 2023 11:41:32 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 2/8/2019
Posts: 49
Thanks, I've posted the links using the contact us page.


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.