Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

populate Menu with SQL Data using VS2005 Options
ROI.Solutions
Posted: Tuesday, April 22, 2008 12:25:22 PM
Groups: Member

Hi,

Im using the Free download to test the sftware and see if this is somehitng my company wants to purchase but i cant get anything to work here. From what i have read it should be easy. Heres what i have done, and remember im new to VS2005.

I created a Web prject using VB.

I have added a SQLDatasource to the web form and ran throught the wizard provided by VS2005 and gets the data fine. However Whe i drop either a menu or grid form your guys software and set the DataSource to the default "SqlDataSource1" connection nothing Happens.. Please help What i want to do is access my SQL Server with a stored procedure and then populate the menu from there.
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, April 22, 2008 12:36:50 PM
Groups: Administration

Hi Loren,

It won't be as easy as that. :) A few extra steps need to be taken before you can get anything to show up either in the menu or the grid.

The menu takes hierarchical data (because it has to figure out which item is the parent item, which one is the child item, etc), not tabular data, which is what a database offer by default. So in order to have anything to show up, you need to provide the menu additional information about the hierarchical structure of your tabular data. The menu supports many ways to do that. You can find detailed information on how to find that information from the help file. You can open the help file by going to Program Files -> EO.Web Controls 2007.2 -> EO.Web Controls for ASP.NET 2.0+ -> Documentation. Once you are there, go to EO.Web Menu -> Using EO.Web Menu -> Data Binding. Several samples are also included to demonstrate various ways to populate the menu. You can load the sample project by going to Program Files -> EO.Web Controls 2007.2 -> EO.Web Controls for ASP.NET 2.0+ -> Live Demo -> Live Demo Source Code.