Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

TreeView - Question about adding new nodes Options
Webideal
Posted: Thursday, August 9, 2007 8:25:25 AM
Groups: Member

Hello, I'm new to EO.WEB control , moreover, I'm new to ASP.NET. I have been exploring the treeView propertie since yesterday and I'm wondering if I can add new nodes, but not from the treebuilder. I'd like to be able to create nodes by (for example) right clicking on the root node.
Maybe there's a property for that, like create new folder, something like that.

In those new folders I'd like to create, a list of contacts would be displayed at the right of the TreeView. This control is a devExpress one we already bought.

Please help me for that :)

Thxo Angel
eo_support
Posted: Thursday, August 9, 2007 8:43:06 AM
Groups: Administration

Hi,

You question actually contains multiple questions, I will try to answer them one by one.

1. You can add new node on the server side, but not on the client. The easiest scenario is that you have a TreeView and a Button, when user clicks the button, you would add a node to the TreeView. In order to accomplish this you simply do this in your Button1_Click handler:

TreeView1.Nodes.Add("new node");

There are other overloads for the Add method, you can take a look of the documentation.

2. Now you probably don't want to use a button, but a right click context menu. For that you will want to use a ContextMenu control and display it by set the TreeView's ClientSideOnContextMenu property. You can take a look of this sample:

http://www.essentialobjects.com/Demo/Default.aspx?path=TreeView\_i1\_i9

You have all the source code of the sample on your local drive. So you will want to take a look of that and see how it is implemented.