Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

TabStrip javascript error with scrolling property active Options
adrianp
Posted: Tuesday, October 9, 2007 12:15:17 PM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 7/12/2007
Posts: 6
Hi!
Please excuse my english.

I'm using build 2007.1.34.

With TabStrip i have this issue:

1. TabStrip with 10 tabs, with scrolling property active (and the tabs scrolls) -> OK
2. TabStrip with 2 tabs, with scrolling propery active (and no need to scrolling) -> Error javascript.

There is a workaround. With small number of tabs, i do NOT set the scrolling property active.

I think this a a bug.
Please, help.

Thanks in advance.
Best regards,
Adrian.
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, October 9, 2007 1:36:11 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,088
Hi Adrian,

Can you post your .aspx code? We tried the following steps and did not see any problem:

1. Create a blank Web form;
2. Drag a TabStrip onto the form, right click it and use TabStrip Builder to create a new tab strip with two items;
3. Set the TabStrip's EnableScrolling to true;

Please try those and see if you get any error. Also let us know what version you are running.

Thanks
adrianp
Posted: Tuesday, October 9, 2007 5:28:18 PM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 7/12/2007
Posts: 6
Hi!

I can't post the code... i'm not a programmer.

My team told me this is the error: "eo_be is null or not an object".

To reproduce:
1. Insert TabStrip with 2 tabs
2. Set scrolling property to true
3. Run web app
4. Click on second tab
5. Click on first tab -> javascript error LINE 7, CHAR 5903 "eo_be is null or not an object".

I'm using 2007.1.34.
TabStrip 4.0.34.2.

Thanks in advance.
Regards,
Adrian.


eo_support wrote:
Hi Adrian,

Can you post your .aspx code? We tried the following steps and did not see any problem:

1. Create a blank Web form;
2. Drag a TabStrip onto the form, right click it and use TabStrip Builder to create a new tab strip with two items;
3. Set the TabStrip's EnableScrolling to true;

Please try those and see if you get any error. Also let us know what version you are running.

Thanks
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, October 9, 2007 5:49:13 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,088
Hi Adrian,

We tried exactly that and we are not seeing any errors. One thing you want to make sure is in order to use scrolling, your TabStrip must have a fixed width. If that still does not solve it, we would need your or your team member to create a reproducing project for us to look into it. It might have something to do with your project or your style sheet. I'll send a private message to you as where to send the reproducing project.

Thanks
David Porter
Posted: Wednesday, November 7, 2007 11:16:38 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 6/14/2007
Posts: 36
Hi There,

I have experienced the same issue since upgrading to 4.0.43.2. This did not occur previously.

Basically the issue boils down to creating a tabstrip and setting enablescrolling=true. If any tab but the first tab is selected, and the tabstrip is big enough that the scrolling arrows do not show, then the following error will occur:

IE: " 'eo_bi' is null or not an object "
Firefox: " a has no properties "

How to recreate:

Create a tabstrip called "TabStrip1" on your ASPX page.

On your code behind add the following code:


Code: Visual Basic.NET
TabStrip1.Items.Clear()
            TabStrip1.EnableScrolling = True

            For iCount = 1 To 3

                oTabItem = New EO.Web.TabItem

                oTabItem.Text.Html = "Caption " & iCount.ToString
                oTabItem.ToolTip = "ToolTip " & iCount.ToString


                If iCount = 2 Then
                    'select tab 2
                    oTabItem.Selected = True
                End If

                TabStrip1.Items.Add(oTabItem)

            Next



As i said, the workaround at present is to set the width smaller so that the scroll arrows will show, or turn of enableScrolling. This is not ideal.

Please can you advise if this issue will be fixed soon,

Regards,
Dave


eo_support
Posted: Thursday, November 8, 2007 4:57:18 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,088
Hi David,

Thanks for the code. We have duplicated the error. It should be fixed soon. We will reply this thread as long as its fixed.

Thanks
David Porter
Posted: Thursday, November 8, 2007 2:32:49 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 6/14/2007
Posts: 36
Thanks,

Glad to help track this one down.

Cheers,
Dave


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.