Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

popup dialog doesn't show up Options
Ken Yee
Posted: Sunday, November 6, 2011 10:03:51 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 11/13/2009
Posts: 22
Putting this on a web page in Chrome doesn't seem to work (works fine in MSIE and FF).
This pops up a dialog when the page is loaded in case it isn't obvious.
Has anyone seen this?

$(document).ready(function(){
eo_GetObject('dlgMyDialog').show(true);
}


eoweb assembly version is 7.0.38.2 (yep, a bit old)-:


A workaround seems to be:
function showDlg() {
eo_GetObject('dlgMyDialog').show(true);
}

$(document).ready(function(){
setTimeout(showDlg, 700);
}

It works, but gives the user a small window to muck w/ the page before the modal dialog takes over. I can't get the delay below 700, so it feels like a race condition bug in EO to me...
eo_support
Posted: Monday, November 7, 2011 6:36:25 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,071
Hi,

This is normal. You are calling showDlg before the dialog has been fully initialized. setTimeout is a solution, another solution is to handle the dialog's ClientSideOnLoad event and then show it in that event.

Thanks
Ken Yee
Posted: Monday, November 7, 2011 10:43:57 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 11/13/2009
Posts: 22
I tried removing the jquery ready code and just using this client side:
dlgMyDialog.ClientSideOnLoad = "showDlg";

And unfortunately, it still doesn't work on Chrome but works fine in FF/MSIE.

I put a javascript breakpoint in the showDlg() JS function and verified it does get called and goes into the EO JS code. The page looks like it has mostly loaded. Might be some weird Chrome optimization bug where the code isn't totally loaded when it calls this?
eo_support
Posted: Monday, November 7, 2011 1:22:41 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,071
Hi,

We have confirmed this to be a problem on Safari and Chrome. In these two browsers ClientSideOnLoad is fired before certain internal data structure are properly initialized for the Dialog control.

The best way to work around this problem is to set the dialog's InitialState to Visible. That will automatically display the dialog as soon as the page loads. It should work on all major browsers.

Thanks!
Ken Yee
Posted: Monday, November 7, 2011 6:05:08 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 11/13/2009
Posts: 22
Thanks for confirming the bug and providing the workaround.

I can confirm the workaraound works fine in Chrome and still works in FF/MSIE :-)
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, November 8, 2011 6:43:22 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,071
Great. Thanks for confirming it works!


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.