Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

Eo.Web.Menu and ASP.NET AJAX (UpdatePanel) does not work Options
Emilian Damian
Posted: Wednesday, December 5, 2007 10:41:02 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 12/5/2007
Posts: 9
I downloaded the latest version of Eo.Web and i added menu into a user control.
On the main page, i have:
<script manager .... >

<my custom control with menu>

<update panel1>

<update panel2>
...

<update panel5>

If i remove the custom control (with the menu in it) from the main page, the page works fine, ajax works as it should.
If i add the custom control (with the menu) to the main page, then ajax does not work at all. No JS error, but the page does a full callback.
Any suggestion on what it may be wrong?

Thank you,
Emilian Damian.
eo_support
Posted: Wednesday, December 5, 2007 12:20:53 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,083
Hi,

Our menu works fine with AJAX UpdatePanel. You can verify this by putting a menu and a few UpdatePanel into a blank page. Thus I believe there is something else in your custom control that breaks UpdatePanel. If you believe it's our menu, please isolate the problem into a test page that does not rely on any external resources so that we can load and run it at here. Once we have that, we would be happy to take a look.

Thanks
Emilian Damian
Posted: Wednesday, December 5, 2007 11:08:11 PM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 12/5/2007
Posts: 9
I forgot to say that it works well on IE6, but not in IE 7. Also, i use the trial version.
The fact that i use the trial version may interfere with AJAX?
Emilian Damian
Posted: Wednesday, December 5, 2007 11:33:00 PM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 12/5/2007
Posts: 9
Here is default.aspx

Code: HTML/ASPX
<%@ Page Language="C#" AutoEventWireup="true" CodeFile="Default.aspx.cs" Inherits="_Default" %>
<%@ Register TagPrefix="eo" NameSpace="EO.Web" Assembly="EO.Web" %>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.1//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml11/DTD/xhtml11.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head runat="server">
    <title>Untitled Page</title>
</head>
<body>
    <form id="form1" runat="server">
        <asp:ScriptManager ID="ScriptManager1" runat="server" />
     
       <eo:Menu runat="server" id="Menu1" ControlSkinID="None" Width="300px">
	<TopGroup Style-CssText="font-weight: bold; font-size: 12px; cursor: hand; color: white; font-family: arial; background-color: transparent"
		ItemSpacing="2">
		<Items>
			<eo:MenuItem Expanded="True" Width="82" Text-Html="Item1">
				<SubMenu Width="500" Orientation="Horizontal">
					<Items>
						<eo:MenuItem Text-Html="Item11">
						</eo:MenuItem>
						<eo:MenuItem IsSeparator="True"></eo:MenuItem>
						<eo:MenuItem Text-Html="Item12">
						</eo:MenuItem>
					</Items>
				</SubMenu>
			</eo:MenuItem>
			<eo:MenuItem Width="76" Text-Html="Item2">
				<SubMenu Width="500" Orientation="Horizontal" OffsetX="-84">
					<Items>
						<eo:MenuItem Text-Html="Item21"></eo:MenuItem>
						<eo:MenuItem IsSeparator="True"></eo:MenuItem>
						<eo:MenuItem Text-Html="Item22"></eo:MenuItem>
						<eo:MenuItem IsSeparator="True"></eo:MenuItem>
						<eo:MenuItem LookID="second_level" Text-Html="Item23">
						    <SubMenu Orientation="Horizontal">
						        <Items>
						            <eo:MenuItem Text-Html="Item231"></eo:MenuItem>
						            <eo:MenuItem IsSeparator="True"></eo:MenuItem>
						            <eo:MenuItem Text-Html="Item232"></eo:MenuItem>
						        </Items>
						    </SubMenu>
						</eo:MenuItem>
					</Items>
				</SubMenu>
			</eo:MenuItem>
		</Items>
	</TopGroup>
	<LookItems>
		<eo:MenuItem HoverStyle-CssText="background-color:#17467a;text-decoration:underline" ItemID="_TopLevelItem" 
			 NormalStyle-CssText="background-color:#17467a;" >
			<SubMenu Style-CssText="padding-right: 6px; padding-left: 6px; font-size: 12px; 
			padding-bottom: 6px; cursor: hand; color: white; padding-top: 6px; font-family: arial; background-color: #17467a;"
				ShadowDepth="0" ItemSpacing="6"></SubMenu>
		</eo:MenuItem>
		<eo:MenuItem IsSeparator="True" ItemID="_Separator" NormalStyle-CssText="margin-top: 3px; margin-bottom: 3px; 
		width: 1px; height: 1px; background-color: white"></eo:MenuItem>
		<eo:MenuItem Height="22" HoverStyle-CssText="color: #17467a; background-color: #d0e1f0;text-decoration:none;"
			ItemID="_Default" NormalStyle-CssText="color: white; text-decoration: none"
			Text-Padding-Left="3" Text-Padding-Right="3"></eo:MenuItem>
		<eo:MenuItem IsSeparator="True" HoverStyle-CssText="color: white; text-decoration: none"
			ItemID="second_level" NormalStyle-CssText="color: white; text-decoration: none">
			<SubMenu Style-CssText="font-size: 12px; cursor: hand; color: white; font-family: arial; background-color: #17467a;text-decoration:none;padding-right: 3px; padding-left: 3px;"
				ShadowDepth="0" OffsetY="5" ItemSpacing="0"></SubMenu>
		</eo:MenuItem>
	</LookItems>
</eo:Menu>

    <asp:DropDownList ID="ddl" runat="server" OnSelectedIndexChanged="ddl_SelectedIndexChanged" AutoPostBack="true"></asp:DropDownList>
    <asp:UpdatePanel ID="upd1" runat="server">
    <Triggers>
    <asp:AsyncPostBackTrigger ControlID="ddl" />
    </Triggers>
    <ContentTemplate>
    <asp:Label ID="mylbl" runat="server"></asp:Label>
    </ContentTemplate>
    </asp:UpdatePanel>
    </form>
</body>
</html>


and default.aspx.cs
Code: C#
using System;
using System.Data;
using System.Configuration;
using System.Web;
using System.Web.Security;
using System.Web.UI;
using System.Web.UI.WebControls;
using System.Web.UI.WebControls.WebParts;
using System.Web.UI.HtmlControls;

public partial class _Default : System.Web.UI.Page 
{
    protected void Page_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)
    {
        if (!Page.IsPostBack)
        {
            ddl.Items.Add(new ListItem("alfa","1"));
            ddl.Items.Add(new ListItem("beta","2"));
            ddl.Items.Add(new ListItem("gama","3"));
        }
    }
    protected void ddl_SelectedIndexChanged(object sender, EventArgs e)
    {
        this.mylbl.Text = ddl.SelectedValue;
    }
}


I use .Net 2.0
web.config is default for "New AJAX enabled web site".
If you will run it, you will notice that page does a post back. if you remove the menu code, it works fine.
eo_support
Posted: Thursday, December 6, 2007 6:32:29 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,083
Hi,

Thanks for the sample code. We have confirmed that is a problem on IE 7. We will be working on it and get back to you as soon as we find anything.

Thanks
Emilian Damian
Posted: Friday, December 7, 2007 12:15:53 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 12/5/2007
Posts: 9
Can you give me any estimate on when this will be fixed? Today? End of next week? Next month? Etc...
Thank you.
eo_support
Posted: Friday, December 7, 2007 6:24:50 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,083
Hi,

We have already fixed this issue. We will send you an update shortly.

Thanks
Emilian Damian
Posted: Friday, December 7, 2007 8:28:40 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 12/5/2007
Posts: 9
Thank you. The last build works well.
Belkin
Posted: Friday, December 7, 2007 1:49:24 PM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 12/7/2007
Posts: 2
I'm having the exact same problem. I have version "5.0.12.2". Is there a new build? If so how do I get it?
eo_support
Posted: Friday, December 7, 2007 3:49:42 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,083
Hi Belkin,

Yes. We have just updated our download page to have 2007.2.16 (5.0.16). That build should have addressed this issue. Please download it from our download page and let us know how it goes!

Thanks
Emilian Damian
Posted: Monday, December 10, 2007 1:22:09 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 12/5/2007
Posts: 9
Another bug related to this.
If i have the menu into an ajax update panel, when the page is refreshed by ajax, the menu navigate url is changing.
So, if i have in navigateUrl="alfa.aspx?a=1&b=2" it change it to url : "alfa.aspx?a=1~b=2"
So, & is changed in ~ . Do you have any idea why?
The code is same as the earlier one, with small changes:
Code: HTML/ASPX
<asp:UpdatePanel ID="up1" runat="server">
     <ContentTemplate>
       <eo:Menu runat="server" id="Menu1" ControlSkinID="None" Width="300px" EnableViewState="false">
	<TopGroup Style-CssText="font-weight: bold; font-size: 12px; cursor: hand; color: white; font-family: arial; background-color: transparent"
		ItemSpacing="2">
		<Items>
			<eo:MenuItem Expanded="True" Width="82" Text-Html="Item1" NavigateUrl="~/a1.aspx?b=1[b]&[/b]c=">


default.aspx.cs
Code: C#
protected override void OnPreRender(EventArgs e)
    {
        base.OnPreRender(e);
        this.Menu1.Items[0].NavigateUrl += this.ddl.SelectedValue;
    }
eo_support
Posted: Monday, December 10, 2007 6:59:14 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,083
Hi,

We tried your code and it works fine here. How do you see the "&" is changed to "~"? We still see "&" in the browser's address bar. You may also want to check the encoding issue as discussed at here:

http://www.essentialobjects.com/Forum/Default.aspx?g=posts&t=684

Thanks

Emilian Damian
Posted: Monday, December 10, 2007 7:18:21 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 12/5/2007
Posts: 9
How can i sent you the entire solution?
When i click on Item1, it goes to: http://localhost/tstMenu2/a1.aspx?b=1~c=1 instead of &.
Belkin
Posted: Monday, December 10, 2007 7:45:38 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 12/7/2007
Posts: 2
eo_support wrote:
Hi Belkin,

Yes. We have just updated our download page to have 2007.2.16 (5.0.16). That build should have addressed this issue. Please download it from our download page and let us know how it goes!

Thanks


Yes, the new build I just downloaded solved the problem. Thanks.
Emilian Damian
Posted: Tuesday, December 18, 2007 10:32:04 PM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 12/5/2007
Posts: 9
I found another bug related to this. :(
I sent the solution to you.
Sometimes, on back button of browser menu is not displayed.
So, to reproduce, add a <a href="default2.aspx>go</a>
If you click "go", and after that, click "Back" button from browser, the menu will not show.
eo_support
Posted: Wednesday, December 19, 2007 1:43:03 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,083
Hi,

We have fixed the issue and sent the download location for the new build to you. Please take a look and let us know how it goes.

Thanks
Emilian Damian
Posted: Wednesday, December 19, 2007 2:13:25 PM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 12/5/2007
Posts: 9
It works.
Thank you.


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.